If You Need More Worship Leaders Or Team Members, Find a Josh.

Josh.57e1ab122a2eacdf06d39a56

A lot of us lost a great friend the other day. More poignantly a family lost a dad, husband, son, grandpa and more. Josh Calvin was one of those guys who made a room, situation, band practice or simple fun time that much better. Sadly, cancer took him way too soon.

I was privileged to be one of his pastors and a fellow musician on our worship team from time to time over a period of eight years in Austin, Texas. And while I left a few rehearsals irritated with myself or others now and then, I can’t ever remember being disappointed in Josh’s contribution to our time together.

He always brought some things to the table of our rehearsal and playing times that I think we might be wise to look for and expect in those who lead or participate in our worship times and even other leadership roles. If nothing else we might pray for and seek out more team members just like Josh.

Let me suggest a few of the qualities that made him pretty special.

Josh was darn good at what he did – playing the guitar. No, Josh wasn’t the best player I ever met but he was always prepared, willing to be taught and eager to do the very best he could do. I’ll take that any day over the diva-like, primadonna players who cover their lack of preparation well but aren’t really ready for prime time and haven’t given their best.

Josh made others look good. If you’re a decent musician you understand the phrase less is more. Josh played less, but better so that the other parts in the band got the attention they deserved or the help they needed to sound even better. He didn’t use his talents to showcase himself while covering up the abilities or unique playing of the rest of the team. I remember time after time when I was playing keys next to him and we easily bowed out for a time while the other took the lead on some section of a song.

Josh sweated the small things while not making too big a deal out of the ones that didn’t matter. Like I said Josh always did his best but he wasn’t fiendishly worried about some little adjustment that perhaps wouldn’t be fixed and therefore he might not sound good enough. Josh often made things work with what he had or we had including potential limitations that perhaps couldn’t be avoided that week. I knew that when Josh was playing that week that we weren’t going to have any meltdowns when something didn’t work.

Josh always took time to care about others. He’d ask you how your week was, engage in fun conversation about hiking or whatever but included listening to your stories not just telling his. When he said he’d pray for you he meant it. He’d stick around and talk if you needed him to. He was willing to share his own weaknesses, too, as a bit of encouragement to someone else.

Josh took time to ponder and slow down. I remember looking forward to hearing about his next backpacking trip, getaway on some remote trail and what he’d be reading while he was gone. He knew the value of refilling and reflection that I’m convinced brought the depth he had to other parts of his life.

Frankly, I don’t know what all led to Josh being the way he was, at least in my experience, but I’m thankful for who he became and for the people I know he impacted, including me. Our teams could use a lot more like Josh. I’m just sad that we didn’t get more time with him, at least for now.

 

Leave a Reply

